Apple Announces Nigerian act Jaido P as next rated artist


Apple Music yesterday declared the latest featured artist in its Up Next Nigeria emerging artist program as Nigerian-born Afro-pop singer-songwriter, Jaido P (real name Taiwo Olajide Daniel).

“I am as happy as a sandboy to be the latest artist to be featured on Apple Music Up Next in Nigeria. Big thank you to Apple Music for the recognition!”

Born and lifted up in the bustling city of Lagos, Jaido P finished from the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo University. He rose through the nation’s musical ranks, honing his songwriting skills to evolve one of the most sought-after Afro-pop artists on the landmass.

Fusing street-inspired and pop-laced Afrobeats melodies with an alternative edge, it was his breakout single “Tesina pot” (2020), featuring prolific rapper Olamide, that laid the foundation for the creation of his debut EP, Shopla. The 6-track EP, available to stream on Apple Music, takes its cue from Jaido’s nickname and tackles weighty topics, from the gap between rich and poor, to how music and fame have changed his life.

As the recent Up Next act to be featured in Nigeria, Jaido P will be featured across Apple Music’s Nigeria’s Up Next playlist.

The curated Up Next playlist features a dynamic class of new and emerging artists, thoughtfully hand-picked by Apple Music editors from around the world. The playlist is genre irreligious and exemplifies a line-up of artists their global authors are passionate about and eager to expose to a larger audience.

Jaido P enlists Ajebo Hustlers as Apple Music’s thriving stable of Up Next Artists from Nigeria.

The enormous international Up Next roster of past talent includes Grammy-nominated and critically lauded talent like 6lack, Daniel Caesar, H.E.R., Greta Van Fleet, Khalid, Amy Shark, Billie Eilish, Sabrina Claudio, Sigrid, Mr Eazi, Stefflon Don, Bad Bunny, Juice WLRD, Bazzi, Jax Jones, NCT 127, Summer Walker, Tierra Whack, Dean Lewis, Pink Sweat$, Koffee, Megan Thee Stallion, Burna Boy, Clairo, Lunay, Jessie Reyez, Orville Peck, Victoria Monét, Ingrid Andress, Conan Gray, Don Toliver, Rema, BENEE, Holly Humberstone, Natanael Cano, Givēon, beabadoobee, Arlo Parks, Tate McRae and Foushee.