Davido, Cohbams and others emerge winners at Beatz Awards


Music stars led by Davido and Cobhave emerged winners at the seventh edition of the Beatz Awards, which was held at Muson Centre in Lagos last weekend.

The awards  was hosted by MC and BBNaija alumni, Dee-One and Ghanaian female rapper, Nana Amporful.

At the ceremony, Davido won the best songwriter award while DJ Lambo won the best female DJ of the year for the second consecutive year, while Blaise Beat won the producer of the year.

Silverbird Television won the best award for Entertainment TV Station of the year and MTV Base won the Entertainment Cable TV of the year.

The award for Afro Gospel Producer of the year went to Lagos Born drummer and multi-instrumentalist Samuel Giveson while the award for Best Blog of the year went to Bella Naija, and Bandhit won the Best Life band award.

Other award winners were, Tosan Wilshire for Best On-Air Personality, Sean Okeke for Best Artiste Manager of the year, TG Omori for Best Music Director, Olamide’s YBNL for Best Record Label award, Boomplay for the Best Music Streaming Platform and VTek for the Best Mixing and Mastering Engineer.

The Chief Executive Officer of the awards ceremony, Elijah John, said Beatz Awards was created to recognise and celebrate outstanding achievements of the creative minds behind music production, business, and distribution.

“We need to recognise the talents behind the stars, these people make these things happen. We want to educate the people about how rich the industry is and how they can tap into the potential, even though they are behind the scene,” John said.