NOSC calls for submission of films ahead of the 94th Oscars


The Nigerian Official Selection Committee (NOSC) for the Academy of Motion Pictures, Arts and Sciences NOSC has announced the inclusion of Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde and filmmaker, Izu Ojukwu in the selection committee.

Omotola, a voting member of the Academy since 2018 and Izu Ojukwu, scriptwriter, cinematographer and director of ‘Sitanda’, ‘76’, and ‘White Waters’ are expected to bring their pedigrees and experiences to bear, in the selection process for a Nigerian entry.

The NOSC has also called on Nigerian filmmakers to submit their films ahead of the 94th Academy Awards (Oscars).

The selection exercise, which will be undertaken by the NOSC, is expected to present one film as Nigeria’s entry in the International Feature Film (IFF) Award category.

The window for film submission, according to the committee, is open from September 20 and will close on October 4, 2021.

The NOSC is headed by filmmaker and entrepreneur, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi.

Members include Chairman of Audio-Visual Rights Society (AVRS) of Nigeria, Mahmood Ali-Balogun; Mildred Okwo; Ego Boyo; Adetokunbo ‘DJ Tee’ Odubawo; Moses Babatope; Bruce Ayonote; Victor Okhai; Omoli Oboli and Shaibu Husseini.