Eight robbers arrested in Mengo after fighting over stolen items


Eight suspects have been arrested when the police found them fighting over their loot. The police were tipped that suspected robbers were almost killing each other after failing to ‘fairly’ share looted items.

The fight was inside Nabukenya’s bar which doubles as a guest house at Budonian village-Mengo, in Kampala central division. By the time police arrived, some of the suspects had cut themselves with machetes and were bleeding. These include Abdul Sselukambo, John Nkurunziza and Haqsam Mukwaya.

Patrick Onyango, Kampala Metropolitan police spokesperson, said in total police arrested 13 suspects but later realized that some of the people were just caught up in the thugs’ fight yet they had gone to enjoy their evening.

“A joint team responded and mounted an operation in which they arrested the suspects with breaking implements. Police conducted a search and recovered house-breaking implements which included a hammer, panga, and locally made padlock opener,” Onyango said.

Police said the suspects were jointly screened in the presence of local council leaders and eight were slapped with charges of being in possession of house-breaking implements.

The other four suspects include Ronald Kalema, a resident of Budonian village, Tonny Ssegujja, a resident of Nabulagala, Isaac Kakooza, a resident of Budonian village, Eric Nandala, a resident of Mengo, and Abdullah Makoomu.

Earlier on, police at Old Kampala had arrested nine suspects during an operation in the areas of Bakuli market behind Total Fuel petrol station which is a known hub for hardcore criminals. Old Kampala Division police commander Tyson Rutambiika ordered the operation because of the numerous public outcries.

“The area has increased criminality in the area, such as phone snatching, opium and marijuana smoking, and robberies among others. The operation was conducted successfully leading to the arrest of nine suspects,” Onyango said.

The suspects arrested in Bakuli operations have been identified as Jamir Lungiso, Annes David, Ronald Mulangira, Derrick Kyeyune, Edie Edirisa, Pacias Agaba, Abbas Mwine, and Moses Ssebagala.