Kenya: Cabinet allocates Sh24bn for drought-stricken counties


The Cabinet has approved the sum of Sh23.96 billion for drought interventions.

It was gathered that the funds will be used to provide interventions in food assistance, water, livestock, peace and security, from April to October, amid concerns that the situation is getting worse.

“The sectors most affected by the crisis include food security, livestock, water, crops production, and education, among others,” the dispatch read.

According to President William Ruto’s led Cabinet, the situation has been complicated by the rising frequency of insecurity in Turkana, Samburu, Baringo, West Pokot, Laikipia, Marsabit, Isiolo and Garissa counties.

Kenya has now experienced four consecutive failed rainy seasons.

The Kenya Red Cross revealed that close to 400,000 people are in dire need of relief food.

The National Drought Management Authority in its January 2023 bulletin painted a worrying picture in 23 counties that have been classified as either in the alarm or alert phase of the drought.

Counties on the alarm phase include Kilifi, Mandera, Marsabit, Samburu, Turkana, Wajir, Isiolo, Kitui, and Kajiado.

Garissa, Lamu, Narok, Tana River, Makueni, Tharaka Nithi, Baringo, Laikipia, Meru, Taita Taveta, West Pokot, Nyeri and Kwale are also in the alert drought phase.