Kiir dismisses two county commissioners


South Sudan’s President, Salva Kiir, has dismissed two county commissioners in Upper Nile State as part of his powers under the 2018 peace agreement.

The commissioner of Melut County, Deng Joh Angok, and the commissioner of Fashoda County, Joseph Abang Adiang, were removed from their positions, according to a presidential decree released on Monday evening.

The presidential decree did not provide any reasons for the changes. Barac Chol Aginy has been appointed as the new commissioner of Melut County, while Royo Yor Deng Kur will take over as the commissioner of Fashoda County.

President Kiir, along with First Vice President Riek Machar and other political figures, signed a peace agreement in 2018, bringing an end to the five-year civil war.

The parties to the peace agreement extended the transitional government’s time in office for another two years in August last year. However, due to the lack of progress on several provisions of the agreement, the end of the transitional period was rescheduled from 2022 to December 2024.