Omicron: FG to restrict airlines from UK, Canada and Saudi Arabia from Tuesday


The Federal government has disclosed plans to restrict airlines coming from Canada, United Kingdom, and Saudi Arabia into Nigeria from Tuesday, December 14.

The Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, who made this known in Lagos, said it was to reciprocate the travel ban placed on Nigeria over the new COVID-19 variant, Omicron.

Sirika said President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration would place the three countries on a red list over the outbreak and spread of the Omicron variant.

It should be recalled that the UK recently placed Nigeria on its redlist and announced that non-UK and non-Irish citizens travelling in from Nigeria will not be allowed entry into the country following the cases of the Omicron COVID-19 variant reported in Nigeria. Like UK. Saudi Arabia and Canada also announced travel bans on Nigeria following the discovery of the Omicron variant in Nigeria.

Sirika argued that these countries cannot be allowed to fly to Nigeria when they placed a ban on Nigeria.

“There is also the case of Saudi Arabia that put Nigeria on the ban list. On Sunday, I participated in a meeting with the COVID-19 task force,” NAN quoted the minister as saying.

We have given our input that it is not acceptable by us, and we recommended that those Canada, the UK, Saudi Arabia, and Argentina also be put on the red list.

As they did to us if they do not allow our citizens into their countries; who are they coming, as airlines, to pick from our country?

They are not supposed to come in. I am very sure in the next three days; Monday or Tuesday, all those countries will be put on the red list of COVID-19.”

He stressed that airlines of the affected countries remained banned and the countries placed on Nigeria’s red list.

The Minister apologised to Nigerians intending to travel to these countries but affirmed that the Nigerian government’s decision was in the interest of the country.