Ruto to preside over swearing in of new Cabinet Secretaries


President William Ruto will witness the swearing in of new Cabinet Secretaries on Thursday at a function in State House, Nairobi.

According to State House Press Secretary Emmanuel Talam, the event will start at 10 am.

On Wednesday, the National Assembly approved all 24 CS nominees, paving way for their appointment to the Executive offices in charge of developing and implementing policy and government programmes.

The CS nominees underwent the vetting process last week.

They include Davis Chirchir (Energy and Petroleum), former Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya (Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs), Mercy Wanjau (Secretary to the Cabinet), Alfred Mutua (Foreign and Diaspora Affairs) and Ababu Namwamba (Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts).

Others are former Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen (Roads, Transport and Public Works), former Narok Woman Representative Soipan Tuya (Environment and Forestry), former Central Bank of Kenya (CBK), Governor Prof Njuguna Ndung’u (National Treasury and Planning) and former Nyaribari Masaba MP Ezekiel Machogu (Education).

Former Raila Odinga aide Eliud Owalo (ICT and Digital Economy), former KenGen boss Ms Rebecca Miano (East African Community, Arid and Semi-Arid Lands and Regional Development), Florence Bore (Labour and Social Protection) and Zacharia Njeru (Lands, Housing and Urban Development) were also approved by the National Assembly.

Also, those approved include former Kandara MP Alice Wahome (Water, Sanitation and Irrigation), former Tharaka Nithi Senator Prof Kithure Kindiki (Interior and National Administration), former Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria (Trade, Investment and Industry) and Susan Nakhumicha (Health).

The house also approved the appointment of Prime Cabinet Secretary nominee Musalia Mudavadi, Tourism and Wildlife CS nominee Peninah Malonza former National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi (Attorney-General), Garissa Township MP Aden Duale (Defense), Labour Cabinet Secretary Simon Chelugui (Co-operatives and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Development, MSMEs).