UAE lifts restriction on Nigerian travellers, 11 other Countries


United Arab Emirates (UAE) has lifted its restrictions on Nigerian travellers and citizens of 11 other African countries yesterday.

The reversal which is expected to take effect on Saturday, will have Nigerians and others that had visited Nigeria welcomed in Dubai or on transit. The new update will also restore flight operations on the Lagos-Dubai-Lagos route.

With European countries relaxing travel protocols, the UAE has lifted a ban on passengers from Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Republic of Congo, South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

The National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) said persons travelling from those countries would have to obtain a negative COVID-19 PCR test 48 hours prior to departure and a negative rapid-PCR test at the departure airport.

Passengers will also be tested on arrival. Those travelling from Uganda, Ghana and Rwanda will also have to take the three tests.