17 In Preparatory Camp Ahead of IHF Trophy Intercontinental Championship In Costa Rica


Nigeria’s under 18 male handball team are presently in an intensive camp in Lagos in preparation ahead of the IHF Inter-continental Championship which will hold in Costa Rica.

The IHF Trophy intercontinental 2023 will hold in San Jose, Costa Rica from March 6 to 11, 2023 and it will be the 5th edition of the championship organized by the International Handball Federation (IHF)

Nigeria, who are the Africa champions in the under 18 male category, are participating in the championship for the second time in history after they finished second in the 2019 edition which held in Pristina, Kosovo with Nigeria losing slimly to Chinese Taipei 27-26 in the final.

The Coach Emeka Nnamani tutored side will be playing in a round robin competition against the likes of Georgia, Guadaloupe, Nicaragua and Tahiti with the first match to be played on the March 8, 2023 against Nicaragua.

Nigeria had qualified for the IHF Trophy Intercontinental 2023 after defeating Guinea 37-36 in the final of the IHF Trophy Continental Phase which held in Brazzaville, Congo earlier in the year. Before then they played in the Africa Zone 3 tournament of the competition in Ivory Coast defeating everyone and they are unbeaten in the championship since losing to Chinese Taipei in the 2019 edition of the Intercontinental championship in Kosovo.

Coach Emeka Nnamani invited 17 players who are presently undergoing serious preparation ahead of the championship. The players consists largely of players who played in the Africa Zone 3 and the continental phase of the championship as well as new players.

Invited Players in Camp

Names and Jersey numbers of under 18 National team.

1. Kareem Faruk — 10.

2. Kuti Akorade — 6.

3. Sulaimon Azeez – 8.

4. Faloki Christian — 4.

5. Obabori Samuel — 20.

6. Mukiala Fuad     — 1.

7. Mohammed Mustapha —- 7.

8. Shagari John     15.

9. Sulaiman Sani — 5.

10. Isiyaka Mustapha – 9.

11. Tahir lawal.            11

12. Rufai Aliyu.            14

13. Ajibike Kareem.     3.

14. Ojo oluwagbanga. 2

15. Ganiu Aduragbemi 12

16. Mohammed Musa 17

17. Sani Mutari.           18