3SC, Tornadoes, Kwara Utd, Others For Ogunjobi Gold Cup


Former champion Niger Tornadoes, then Shooting Stars, Kwara United, MFM FC and Remo Stars will lock horns against four other teams as the Ogunjobi Gold Cup Pre-season Tournament officially kicks off from Thursday, October 21 through Saturday, October 30, 2021.

The 9th edition of the tourney will be co-hosted at the Remo Stars Stadium in Ikenne and FC Ebedei Stadium in Sagamu.
Tunde Shamsudeen, General Coordinator of the nation’s first pre-season tourney disclosed the other teams for the 10-day football fiesta as FC Ebedei, Osun United, Yobo FC and debutants Beyond Limits.

In the draw conducted on Wednesday, Group A is regarded as ‘Group of Death’ as it is made up of Kwara United, MFM FC, Remo Stars, Osun United and Yobo FC. Newly promoted NPFL sides, Tornadoes and Shooting Stars will have their hands full as they battle NLO ‘giant-killers’ FC Ebedei and Beyond Limits in Group B.

The Remo Stars Stadium will host all Group A contests, while Group B matches will be hosted at the FC Ebedei Stadium. ABS FC of Ilorin is the defending champions after they stung Gombe United in a 5-goal thriller at the last edition in Ilorin.

The country’s first pre-Season tournament is sponsored by Optima Energy, and its proudly supported by Alansmith Nigeria Limited, Taiwo Joseph Ogunjobi Foundation, Nigeria leading sportswear firms, Owu, Haggai Sportswear, Afripro, Naija League Magazine, Matchroom, Sports, 11th Media Global Concept, Freestyle Sports, Renewed Hope, Kao Concept, Seyi Akinwunmi Charity Foundation, Dejavu Communication, Olansile Football Academy, TSI Football Academy and ITS Football Management.