AFCON 2021: Nigeria In Pot 1 To Avoid Top Countries


Ahead of the 2021 African Cup of Nations draw, the African soccer governing body (CAF) has placed qualified countries in the respective pots ahead of the African Nations Cup.

Twenty-four qualified countries are placed in 4 pots of 6 teams from where they will be grouped into 4 teams of 6 groups

Three-time African champions, Nigeria’s Super Eagles are placed in Pot one alongside host Cameroon, Senegal, Morocco, Tunisia, and defending champions, Algeria.

Pot two consists of 7-time champions Egypt, Ghana, Mali, Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, and Guinea

In Pot 3, Cape Verde, Gabon, Mauritania, Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe, and Guinea Bissau.

Malawi, Sudan, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, and two debutants Comoros and Gambia made up Pot 4.

The draw is scheduled for Yaounde on the 17th of August with top officials of CAF gracing the occasion.