AFCON 2023: Super Eagles’ 40-Man Provisional List Unveiled


The Super Eagles’ 40-man provisional squad for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Côte d’Ivoire has been unveiled.

This according to the source (, has not been officially confirmed by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) concerning the list.

The provisional list is made up six goalkeepers, 13 defenders, eight midfielders and 13 forwards.

Goalkeepers Amas Obasogie, Ojo Olorunleke and Christian Nwoke are the only home-based players included.

Francis Uzoho, Adebayo Adeleye and Chippa United first choice Stanley Nwabali make up the six goalkeepers shortlisted.

William Troost-Ekong and Kevin Akpoguma are making a return to the team and will fight for a final spot in the defence alongside Kenneth Omeruo, Bruno Onyemaechi, Ola Aina, Semi Ajayi, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Zaidu Sanusi, Calvin Bassey, Jordan Torunarigha, Chidozie Awaziem, Tyronne Ebuehi and Jamilu Collins.

The midfield has Alex Iwobi, Wilfred Ndidi, Raphael Onyedika, Kelechi Nwakali, Joe Aribo, Frank Onyeka, Alhassan Yusuf and Fisayo Dele-Bashiru.

For the forwards, the shortlisted players are Emmanuel Dennis, Victor Osimhen, Victor Boniface, Terem Moffi, Paul Onuachu, Ahmed Musa, Cyriel Dessers and Kelechi Iheanacho.

Others are Ademola Lookman, Nathan Tella, Umar Sadiq, Moses Simon and Samuel Chukwueze.

The Super Eagles are in Group A at next year’s AFCON with hosts Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau and Equatorial Guinea.

In their opening Group A game which will hold on 14 January 2024, the Eagles will take on Equatorial Guinea.

Four days later they will face Côte d’Ivoire rounding off the group stage games when they face Guinea-Bissau on January 22.

Super Eagles’ AFCON 2023 40-man provisional squad:


1. Francis Uzoho

2. Adebayo Adeleye

3. Ojo Olorunleke

4. Stanley Nwabali

5. Amas Obasogie

6. Christian Nwoke


1. Ola Aina

2. Bright Osayi-Samuel

3. Tyronne Ebuehi

4. Jamilu Collins

5. Zaidu Sanusi

6. Bruno Onyemaechi

7. William Troost-Ekong

8. Semi Ajayi

9. Calvin Bassey

10. Kenneth Omeruo

11. Kevin Akpoguma

12. Chidozie Awaziem

13. Jordan Torunarigha


1. Wilfred Ndidi

2. Frank Onyeka

3. Joe Aribo

4. Alex Iwobi

5. Alhassan Yusuf

6. Fisayo Dele-Bashiru

7. Raphael Onyedika Nwadike

8. Kelechi Nwakali


1. Victor Osimhen

2. Victor Boniface

3. Terem Moffi

4. Umar Sadiq

5. Ahmed Musa

6. Paul Onuachu

7. Cyriel Dessers

8. Ademola Lookman

9. Nathan Tella

10. Moses Simon

11. Emmanuel Dennis

12. Samuel Chukwueze

13. Kelechi Iheanacho