ANOCA Zone 3: HFN Invites 16 Players As Nigeria Face Benin Republic, Ivory Coast


The Handball Federation of Nigeria has invited 16 players to camp ahead of the 2023 Association of National Olympics Committee of Africa Zone 3 which holds in Togo.

This is contained in a statement released by the federation on Tuesday which reads; “the Nigeria National Women’s Handball team will play Cote D’ Voire and Benin Republic at the ANOCA Games for Africa Zone 3 in Togo.

“The ANOCA games, which is organized by the Association of National Olympics Committee of Africa in each sporting zone of the continent, is to prepare teams ahead of the All Africa Games which will hold in Ghana in 2024 and that of Africa Zone 3 commenced on Monday, December 4th to 9th, 2023.

“To this end, the Handball Federation of Nigeria (HFN) invited 16 players who had a close camping in Lagos under the watchful eyes of Coach Yusuf Abdukadir and Coach Innocent Nwankwo in Lagos before traveling to Lome, Togo ahead of the matches against Cote D’ Voire and Benin Republic on Wednesday.

“Top on the list are in form players who just finished playing in the Ardova Handball Premier League 2023 such as Goalkeeper Toyin Yusuf of Plateau Peacocks who was voted the best goalkeeper in the just concluded league, Inipki Aruwa and Diane Saloo of Safety Babes and team captain Dorothy Nyagh of Defender Babes.

“Others are Benin Republic based Rachel Overtue and Wuraola Nuhu while Nigeria Women’s Under 18 team player are also represented in the list. They are Esther Mathew and Taiwo Babatunde of Seasider Babe as well as Prudence Samuel and Lucy Onyekwere.

Nigeria will play Benin Republic before also playing Cote’D Voire on Wednesday.

Team List for ANOCA Games Zone 3 In Togo.

1.Diana Saaloo (Safety Babes)

2.Ada Okey (Safety Babes)

3.Esther Mathew (Seasider Babes)

4.Taiwo Babatunde (Seasider Babes)

5.Inikpi Aruwa (Safety Babes)

6.Olubisi Oyewusi (Seasider Babes)

7.Wuraola Nuhu

8. Rachel Ovetuo

9 Lucy Onyekwere

10. Winner Johnson (Plateau Peacocks)

11.Prudence Samuel (Rima Queens)

12. Dorathy Nyagh (Defender Babes)

13. Plangnan Oliver (Plateau Peacocks)

14.Toyin Yusuf (Plateau Peacocks)

15. Muhinat Yusuf (Defender Babes)


1. Coach Yusuf Abdukadir (Head Coach)