More Accolades For Osimhen At Ghana Football Awards After Stellar Season


Victor Osimhen, 24 years old, is not done with individual honors following a stellar 2022-23 campaign, after bagging another award at the 5th Ghana Football Awards, held at the Grand Arena, Accra International Conference Center (AICC) on Sunday.

We report on the full winners from the honorary event, which honors the exploits of footballers, coaches, clubs, and administrators within the year in review, in this case, the 2022-23 season.

Since the event’s inception in 2018, The Ghana Football Awards has recognized Ghanaian footballers and other African stakeholders for their achievements throughout the footballing calendar.

Nigerian striker and Serie A’s top scorer for the year in review – Napoli’s Victor Osimhen beat Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez of Manchester City’, Egypt’s Mohamed Salah of Liverpool, and Morocco’s Yassine Bounou of Sevilla to clinch the Best African International Award.

Osimhen won the Scudetto with Napoli and clinched the Capocannoniere with 26 Serie A goals, alongside 5 UEFA Champions League strikes helping Gli Azzurri to the Quarterfinals.

His performance also transcended to the national team as the Lagos-born striker scored a brace for the Super Eagles of Nigeria against Sierra Leone in MatchDay 5 of the AFCON qualifying series, consequently sealing a spot in Cóte d’Ivoire 2024 with a game to spare.

Up next is the CAF Awards later in the year.

The full winners at the 5th Ghana Football Awards:

Men’s Coach of the Year – Evans Adotey (Medeama SC)

Club CEO of the Year – Moses Armah (Medeama SC)

Living Legend Awards – Sir Sam Jonah, Alberta Sackey (Ex-Black Queens Captain)

Women’s Coach of the Year – Joe Nana Adarkwa (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Male Team of the Year – Medeama SC

Female Team of the Year – Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Special Fan(s) of the Year – Die Hard Supporters Union

Goalkeeper of the Year – Felix Kyei (Medeama SC)

Goal Queen of WPL – Princess Owusu (Fabulous Ladies)

Goal King of GPL – Abednego Tetteh (Bibiani Goldstars)

Best Goal of the Year – Eric Serge Zeze (Asante Kotoko)

Most Vibrant Club on Social Media – Asante Kotoko

Thumbs up Award – Robert Tetteh Coleman (Wembley Sports Complex)

Odartey Lamptey Future Star Award – Ernest Appiah Nuamah (FC Nordsjaelland)

Home-based Women’s Footballer of the Year – Mary Amponsah (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Home-based Men’s Footballer of the Year – Sampson Eduku (Tamale City)

Best African International – Victor Oshimen (SSC Napoli/Nigeria)

Women’s Footballer of the Year – Blessing Shine Agbomadzi (ASFAR, Morocco)

Footballer of the Year – Kudus Mohammed (Ajax)