NFF Complies With FIFA Directive, Rejigs Ref Committee And Two Others


The Nigeria Football Federation has complied with FIFA’s directive after it ditched Mallam Rabiu Umar to name former FIFA referee, Mrs Faith Irabor to head it’s Referee Committee, as it also rejigged the composition of the Match Judicial Committee and Match Commissioners Committee.

It was gathered that the three different committees would see to the officiating in the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) for the period of four years, 2022-2026.

The development is according to FIFA’s new document that the referees’ committee shall be composed only of former match officials (preferably having operated at the top level of their respective domestic competition). They should not be affiliated with any club, any other football organisation, or another referee organisation (union, membership group, etc). Active match officials shall not be eligible to become members of any Referees Committee.

Irabor will work with Mallam Rabiu Umar as Vice Chairman, while the Match Commissioners Committee is headed by Member of NFF Board, Alhaji Babagana Kalli. The Vice Chairman is Ogun State FA Chairman who doubles as Board member of the NFF, Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi.

The Disciplinary Committee is headed by Barrister J. B. C. Obikwelu, former Vice Chairman of the Anambra State Football Association, while Barrister Gandi Umar Mohammed is Chairman of the Appeals Committee.

The Referees and Match Commissioners’ committees are are to meet with the NFF leadership at the NFF Secretariat, Abuja on Thursday by 1pm, in preparation for the 2022-2023 Nigeria Professional Football League season commencing on Saturday, 8th January.