NFF President Charges newly Constituted Boards With Improved League Mandate


The Nigeria Football Federation’s President – Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau, constituted new members into the boards directing the Nigeria National League (NNL), Nation-Wide League One (NLO), and the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL), while charging their respective chairmen with mandate for the upcoming domestic league campaign.

As the 2023-24 League season approaches, Ibrahim Gusau charged the respective arms of league systems to come up with feasible plans and marketing strategies that will take the domestic game to the next level.

While speaking at the inauguration of the Boards held inside the Conference Room at the NFF Secretariat in the Federal Capital Territory, on Monday afternoon, the Federation’s President expressed the need to leverage on the new momentum experienced in Nigeria Football.

“I am indeed happy to be here performing this action this afternoon,” Gusau started with Rt. Hon. Nse Essien – Member of the NFF Executive Committee, Dr. Emmanuel Ikpeme – the Deputy General Secretary, and Mr. Ademola Olajire – Director of Communications, to mention but a few notables, present at the event.

“We are at a time and period when our domestic football is gaining fresh momentum, thanks to the impressive organization of the NPFL in the recently-concluded season, and also the colour, razzmatazz and positive vibes from the Super 6 of the NPFL, the NWFL and the NNL, and the pre-season Super 8 Tournament that ended in Lagos at the weekend.

“We have picked men and women of high calibre, integrity and drive in order that we will have sustainable Leagues. We do not want a situation whereby a league will get to the middle of the season and be saying there is no longer money to run its programmes. We believe we have, in the new boards, men and women who can turn things around.”

In his remarks to the newly constituted board members, Gusau established his vision of developing the beautiful game of Football from the grassroots level to the professional stage.

“The task of the new Boards of the different Leagues is to ensure that the momentum is not only sustained, but greatly enhanced in order to take Nigeria domestic football to new heights of excellence.

“The NFF is determined that our football should be developed from the grassroots, with so much focus on young players, young referees and young coaches. While we will put up the policies, the Boards of the Leagues will have to put in the energy and drive to implement these policies and generally improve the lot of the domestic game.

“Last year, the Federal Government promoted sports from the category of recreation to business. Football is therefore big business, and we must start to treat it as such. You all have the responsibility to develop workable marketing strategies and media plans to build viable products of the NNL, NWFL and the NLO.”

Full list of newly constituted board members and their chairmen:


Mr. George Aluo – Chairman

Hon. Khamisu Ahmed Mailantarki – Vice Chairman

Mr. Yakubu Sarma – Member

Mallam Sani Mohammed – Member

Dr. Donald Ikpe – Member

Chief Joseph Uzoma Ebowusim – Member

Chief Dotun Sanusi – Member

Mr. Emmanuel Attah – CEO


Hon. Silas Agara – Chairman

Mr. Adeoye Adepeju – Vice Chairman

Mallam Sabo Abdullahi Dutse – Member

Mr. Ogheneochuko Ambakaderemo – Member

Mr. Tunji Onatolu – Member

Barr. Bucknor Akintade – Member

Alhaji Salisu Ibrahim – Member

Mallam Hassan Abdullahi Garo – CEO


Ms Nkechi Nneka Obi – Chairman

Hajiya Hussaina Suleman – Vice Chairman

Alhaja Rukayat Lola Alaya – Member

FIFA Hadiza Musa – Member

Mr. Ayodele Thomas – Member

Ms Henrietta Ehiobor – Member

Mr. Danny Nazzal – Member