Nigeria National Female Cricket Invites 20 For ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers


20 senior female cricket players have been selected to begin camping on 7th August 2021 in preparation for International Cricket Council, (ICC) Women’s World Cup, Africa qualifiers at Edo State Cricket High-Performance facility within Edo Boys High School, Adolor, Benin City.

Teenage centurion player (played 100 runs), Piety Lucky, and 99 runs player, Salome Sunday are among the 20 girls invited by the Nigeria Cricket Federation. Most of the invitees took part in the Rwanda genocide commemorative Kwibuka T20 tournament in June 2021.

Nigeria senior female cricket team finished 4th in the 5 nation tournament without Piety featuring. The senior female team was adjudged to be good at batting despite winning only one game against Botswana.

While the kwibuka tournament serves as a dress rehearsal for the team, cricket pundits in the country have advocated a longer assemblage of the players as a panacea for improved results in future tournaments.

“Most of the common errors that showed up in their play will be avoided. I believe their batting is almost on the same level as that of the top female African teams Where they struggle is the discipline, match awareness, and fitness to see out tournaments.” Team Manager Mr. John Oboh observed. The full list of invited players are as follows, 1. Omonye Asika, 2. Favour Eiegbe, 3. Agatha Obulor 4. Oseyanda Omokhiohbio 5. Piety Lucky 6. Abigail Igbobie 7. Miracle Imimole 8. Joy Efosa 9. Chinyenum George 10. Etim Blessing 11. Salome Sunday 12. Blessing Frank 13. Esther Sandy 14. Kehinde Abdulquadri 15. Taiwo Abdulquadri 16. Rachel Samson 17. Blessing Nwobodo 18. Mary Desmond 19. Fyneface Fate 20. Shakirat Oyewole.

The African qualifiers of the Women’s T20 World Cup would are hosted by Botswana between 7th to 20th September 2021 with Botswana, Cameroon, Namibia, and Nigeria participating. Other countries expected to be in the qualifiers include Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zimbabwe, the only Test Cricket playing countries.