NPFL: NFF President Reads Riot Act As Referees, Match Commissioners Committees Inaugurated


The President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau, has announced that match commissioners and referees, who do not meet the required standards will be “summarily ejected and sanctioned appropriately.”

The 58-year-old made the announcement at the inauguration of the Referees and Match Commissioners’ Committees in Abuja, on Thursday as the league kicks off this weekend.

Gusau stated that the NFF will be “keenly monitoring the performances” of those appointed to the committees and “will be dispassionate in our assessment.” Those found to be lacking will be “thrown out without ceremony,” and face further sanctions.

The Chairman of the Match Commissioners Committee, Alhaji Babagana Kalli, pledged that the committee will focus on transparency and integrity in its work, while also scrutinising its appointees. Faith Irabor, Chair of the Referees Committee, affirmed that the Committee will work towards implementing the highest standards of probity in match officiating.

The Match Commissioners Committee is led by Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi (NFF Board Member) as the Vice Chairman and includes Hon. Usman Maulud, Alh. Aminu Mammaga, Alh. Idris Abdullahi Musa, Anthony Ugwu, Otunba Mustapha Razaq, Alh. Sabo Abdullahi Dutse, Chief Kenneth Nwamuocha, and Danlami Alanana, as the secretary.

The Referees Committee is led by Mallam Rabiu Umar as the vice chairman, with Oba James Odeniran, Abraham Zakowi, Mallam Waziri Furo Gawe, C. C. Chukwujekwu, Mallam Bello Abubakar as members, and Alh. Sani Zubairu as the secretary.

The two committees will begin their duties immediately as league kicks off this weekend.