Oyo SWAN, Athletics Association lit up Ibadan with Under 13 Sports Fiesta in Ibadan


All is set for the multi sports fiesta being jointly put together by the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) Oyo State chapter and the State Athletics Association in partnership with JERONA Sports International.

The grand finale of the competition, tagged Oyo U-13 Football and Athletics Competition holds today, May 31st at the Lekan Salami stadium, Adamasingba in Ibadan.

The competition, involving JSS 3 pupils and other school children who are under the age of 13, will feature finals of football, march pass as well as track events such as relay race, 100m and 200m race.

Brightville College and Adem Secondary School will slug it out in the football final.

On Tuesday, Precious Academy beat Generationext to the third place after winning by a lone goal.

In athletics events, the state power house Brightville College Ibadan, Blessing College from Ago Are in Oke Ogun area of Oyo State as well as Supreme College, Hilltop Secondary School, Supreme Academy and Bodija International School are to fight for medals and honours.

Also, Brightville College, Hill Crest Excellence School, Chancery College and Bodija International College will compete in the march pass.

According to the Chairman of the Competition’s Planning Committee, who doubles as the Secretary of SWAN in Oyo State Mr Adewale Tijani, the competition is aimed at discovering and nurturing budding talents who will represent the state and Nigeria in future national and international competitions.

The Chairman of Oyo State Athletics Association, Dr Isaac Friday Ogada disclosed that scouts including the Head of Southampton FC International Academy Partner Programme in Nigeria, Leon Osahon, will watch the finals of the competition to pick outstanding athletes who will be groomed for the future.

The Competition’s organisers further disclosed that aside medals which will be presented to the winners in various events, outstanding athletes will also go home with monetary prizes.

The grand finale of the competition is expected to be graced by ‘who is who’ in sports world among whom are the President Nigeria School Sports Federation, Mrs Olabisi Joseph, National President of Nigeria Judo Federation Dr Musa Oshodi, Chairman Ibadan Recreation Club Dr Soji Tayo, Oyo SWAN Patroness Ambassador Romoke Ayinde and captains of industries.

The Chairman Nigeria Union of Journalists Oyo State Council Chief Ademola Babalola and the Chairman Sports Writers Association of Nigeria Oyo State chapter Mr Niyi Alebiosu are to host the dignitaries.